Long weekends are a gift

Thank god for a holiday tomorrow because I need an extra day to relax and catch up after a busy weekend.  Good busy, as it usually is, but busy nonetheless.

It began Friday night with a concert at Nublu.  Since my move up to NYC I have been catching up with an old friend who has been in the city for a few years now.  She is the lead singer of Wax Poetic and so when I found out the group was performing I just had to go hear her.  I invited a few friends whom I knew wouldn’t mind an adventurous night of new music and new venues and headed to the East Village.

Sissy and the band put on a great show and en plus, I think I have found a new place to hit up on the weekends.  Of course it was a late night for this girl–the concert didn’t even begin until 12:30am and in true rocker fashion our party continued long after the last set!  Vive la vie à New York 🙂

Then Saturday we went out to celebrate my uncle’s birthday at Buddakan.  When you’re 20-something and trying to make it in the big city, it’s always nice to have family around to take you out to dinner –and it doesn’t hurt when the restaurant is amazingly chic!  You might be familiar with the spot for its cameo in Sex and the City Movie (rehearsal dinner scene).

It really was a cool place with a quasi VIP style and amazingly delicious food!  It is served family style and comes as it is prepared.  We tried a variety of things and ended with birthday apple cider doughnuts served with the most delicious creme fraîche ice cream.  Wish I had some right now.

Today I spent the afternoon in Brooklyn with some girlfriends.  We ate at a really neat South African themed restaurant.  Spending a Sunday surrounded by friends, drinks, food and reggae music was relaxing– especially knowing that the next day doesn’t mean work.

How did you all spend the weekend? Any good eats devoured or fun venues discovered?

4 thoughts on “Long weekends are a gift

  1. I, as you know, have been living in the DC area for almost 3 years now but havent really ventured out to the monuments to really take them in. So yesterday, being presidents day weekend, I took a little trip with a friend to the Air & Space museum. It was pretty cool!! Saw some Boeing airplanes from back in the day (shout out to poppop & uncle russ)…..then went and walked through the Vietnam memorial and Lincoln memorial. It was pretty neat!! I play kickball on the national mall every spring but to actually take things in was cool! I can officially call DC my home now. LOL.

  2. Pingback: The price of friends « Becoming French

  3. Pingback: Rêveries Musicales (Music Musings) « Becoming French

Dis-moi! Tell me what you're thinking

