Happy Monday

Fall in America, or more specifically on the East Coast.

I don’t believe there is anything like it! The beginning of a new school year, going to football games, corn mazes, carving pumpkins and baking the seeds, passing soccer fields filled with kids on a Saturday morning, raking leaves, sitting in Starbucks with a Pumpkin Spice Latte, getting ready for Halloween…

After living in a foreign country for a year I have found a new appreciation for a lot of things but everyone finds a joy in this time of year.  How could you not?

This past weekend, my first back as an American in America, I did some very festive activities.  Saturday afternoon I was involved in a pumpkin carving contest.  As the kids were running around the yard playing football (love it) the adults drank pumpkin beer and ate soul warming chili 🙂  There was also some carving going on as well.  I felt it only necessary to carve a big “USA” into my orange canvas.  I must say I was low on the creativity scale next to my friends.  The winner  was a “Timon and Pumbaa” (The Lion King) carved by my artistic best friend and her sister.  There was also an RIP “Apple” Steve and a “jaws” created by keeping the pumpkin on its side.

Sunday I went with a few friends into Chestnut Hill a small town near Philadelphia.  We walked down Main Street stopping in little boutiques and coffee shops.  The weather was beautiful with strong sun but a crisp breeze.

Since I have gotten off the plane from France I have to admit, I have been a little anti-American.  I compare everything to France and don’t hesitate to tell people that I wish I was back there.  I feel sorry for this attitude now though because really you can’t find this family, happy, cozy Autumn feeling in France and I sure am glad to be back here devouring in it 🙂

(these delicious cookies were HOMEMADE by our pumpkin carving hostess. Amazing detail AND delicious!)

Dis-moi! Tell me what you're thinking

