Traveling lesson finally learned

I really need to stop assuming things when I am traveling!

I got to the airport this morning at 8h20 and I dont have my flight until 12h55.  The early bird move was necessary because the only direct train from Dijon to the airport was that one.  Getting to CDG on the earlier side for an international flight was not a big deal, if not a plus–especially considering the move I pulled. So I’m sitting around not knowing what to do with my time.  I didn’t know the gate number but there is a larger than life board with all the flights listed right when you walk into the airport from the train.  So I plopped down with my 90kg worth of luggage and took in the scenery.  I love people watching at an airport.  Might even be my favorite place in the world–airports.  So I am watching the board and two hours pass.  They begin listing the flights for noon.

I wait.

Its 10h15 when I see the first flight listed for 13h and I freak out a bit. WHERE IS MINE?

What I should have down when I first arrived was ask the information desk where I needed to be for my flight.  This is what I did at quarter past 10 however and I find out I need to be at a whole different terminal. I need to take a shuttle!

Lucky for me I had plenty of time and am now even waiting in the lounge before takeoff. Tranquil. But for a minute there I was flashing back to last winter when I missed my train to London because I was on the wrong platform, reading a large kiosk, thinking I was going to see my train listed.

But I have survived both traveling issues and have now firmly decided that pride and travel dont mix.  It doesnt hurt to ask.  I am now sitting in the Star Alliance Lounge, also because I asked.  Well not entirely.  My Uncle was the one who upgraded me and I thank him (having 10kg extra for my luggage saved my life).  But I also had to ask where this place was and had to admit to never stepping foot into a place so classy at an airport: what do I do here? Where do I go? What cool things can I eat?

So that’s that. I’m eating a tarte and having an espresso once last time in France before heading back to the mother land.  I am excited but even more exciting is that Becoming French has not ended just yet….

Dis-moi! Tell me what you're thinking

