How many times can I go to the Louvre in one year?

It’s just become a second home to me now.  Each time I have a visitor, and I have been fortunate enough to have quite a few, I have to take them to Paris. I LOVE Paris, so it’s not a hassle at all but going to the same things over and over can get boring; especially le Louvre. This monstrous building is amazingly interesting but also overwhelming, tiring and honestly not my favorite place in the city.  All that being said, each person needs to say they saw the Mona Lisa and took a picture by the glass pyramid so I do it over and over again.  As I said, every time has been different so that’s good.  One thing that stays the same: the desire to pull the covers back on when I wake up at the crack of dawn to avoid lines.

This time around, with my PIC Amanda, we had a lot of fun.  Having already gotten our fix of Roman sculptures in ROME we cut out a large chunk of the “must-sees”.  As for the rest–being retired swimmers we got our butts up out of bed early and were one of the first 10 people to see Mona Lisa and her lovely smile.  From there we took a grand tour of everything Egyptian and got a little lost along the way (hard to avoid). Avoiding the afternoon mobs we were out of there and napping in the Tuileries Garden before noon.

Our weekend was again very much unplanned but we were able to accomplish A LOT!  Musée d’Orsay, le Louvre , Centre Pompidou (modern art museum), boat tour, Eiffel Tower and Sacre Coeur.  We even snuck in a night out on the town!  The Centre Pompidou was a highlight for me being that I had never visited before.  We made sure to take nothing seriously throughout the weekend…even in our most intellectual settings 🙂

Dis-moi! Tell me what you're thinking

