In review: Les Petits Mouchoirs

So last night I went to the cinéma again. This time the movie was not based on a book I had already read so the pressure was on: was I going to understand it? Would I sit there for 2 hours with a “concentration headache” (thinking in another language is hard work)? When everyone laughed would I get the joke?  There have been a few times when I have encountered this.  Jokes can be hard to follow (in French that is, hope we are all on the same page here).  And when you are the only one with a straight–or confused face, it can be a bit awkward!  To add to my own stream of worries, everyone around me was asking if I was going to comprehend the movie.  Uhhh I know as much as you people do about the future;  All I could say was “j’espère!”

I could count the things I knew about the film on one hand:

1. It was a new release which had received a lot of good press so far.

2. Marion Cotillard was in it (Absolutely love her–evident in my current Facebook photo)

3. The story centered around a group of friends going on vacation and the problems that surpass between them.

So the lights dimmed and the trailers began–they didnt run as many as we do, but that’s so American: to do things over and above.  Come movie theater fashion, we had some popcorn to share amongst the four of us (Juliette, Léone, Liz and myself) but unlike the United States this popcorn was not doused in butter and salt. Nope, instead it was covered in sticky, sweet sugar!  That was a shock when I blindly took some from the bag and to be honest it kind of didn’t do the trick for me (I’ve never been a big fan of Kettle Cooked popcorn, which is what I would compare this to).

But there was no time for me to eat popcorn anyways–too loud when you chew it and I had to try to hear everything going on in this film.  Luckily this didn’t end up being as hard as I thought!  I am even more proud to say I understood it, comprehended it, and LOVED it!  Proof of this: I laughed with the sinners and cried with the saints…

No but seriously, I laughed at the jokes (There was a lot to laugh about; especially François Cluzet’s character), understood the relationships between each character (deep and complicated) and yes, I even cried (as did most of the theater) towards the end.  All in all it was a great French film by Guillaume Canet that I recommend to anyone! I hope I can buy the DVD some day (maybe there will even be English subtitles for my American friends to enjoy with me).  And for now, those friends can at least enjoy the great soundtrack–most of which was English.

Dis-moi! Tell me what you're thinking

